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Office of the State Public Defender 
Administrative Policies 

 
 
Subject:  Witness Fees Policy No.:  140 
Title   26 Pages:  4 
Section:  2-501 through 2-503 Last Review Date:  8-19-09 
Effective Date: 2-20-09 Revision Date:  8-24-09 
 
1.0  POLICY 

1.1  The Office of the State Public Defender (OPD) will pay witnesses a fee of 
$10 per day plus mileage as required by state law. 

1.2  OPD will also pay other expenses incurred by witnesses, including 
lodging, commercial transportation and per diem, in accordance with State 
of Montana travel policy. 

1.3   This policy applies to witnesses that testify voluntarily at the request of 
OPD, and to witnesses that appear to testify because they were issued a 
subpoena by OPD. 

 
2.0  PROCEDURES  

2.1  A witness is entitled to $10 per day plus mileage at the current state rate. 
2.2  The witness must complete the Witness Fee and Travel Information form 

(Attachment A) for payment to be processed.  
2.3  The Witness Fee and Travel Information form, along with a completed W-

9 form (Attachment B), the subpoena if applicable, and receipts for any 
additional expenses are to be mailed to the OPD Central Office. 

2.4  The office manager is responsible for providing the required forms to each 
witness testifying at the request of an OPD office, and for verifying the 
witness’s appearance in court.  

2.5  Contract attorneys are responsible for providing the required forms to 
each witness testifying at the request of their office, and for verifying the 
witness’s appearance in court.  

 
3.0  CLOSING 
  This policy shall be followed unless it conflicts with specific statutes, which shall 

take precedence to the extent applicable. 
 
  Questions about this policy should be directed to the Central Office at the 

following address:  
Office of the State Public Defender, Administrative Service Division 
44 West Park, Butte, MT 59701 
Phone: 406-496-6080 
 

4.0  Cross-Reference Guide 
  MCA 26-2-501, et seq. 
  MOM 1-0300, Travel Policy
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ATTACHMENT A 

 
OFFICE OF THE STATE PUBLIC DEFENDER 
44 West Park Street  ▪  Butte, Montana  59701 

406.496.6080  
 

Witness Fee and Travel Information 
 
If you have appeared to testify at the request of the Office of the State Public Defender, the following information is 
needed to process your $10/day witness fee and travel claim.   

� Please complete this form and the attached W-9 immediately after attending the court proceeding at which 
you testified. Please print legibly. 

� Attach your subpoena unless you testified voluntarily.  
� Attach original receipts for expenses purchased by you (motel room, airline or bus ticket, rental car, airport 

parking, etc.)   
� Meal receipts are not required; however, if you are claiming meals, you must include departure/return times. 

You will be reimbursed at the prevailing state rate, not at actual cost. 
� Mail both forms and all attachments to: 
           Office of the State Public Defender 
           44 W. Park 
           Butte MT 59701   

 
NAME 
 
 

MAILING ADDRESS 

PHONE NUMBER 
 
 

DATE(S) OF TESTIMONY  (ATTACH SUBPOENA) 
 
 

DATE OF DEPARTURE                               (MONTH/DAY/YEAR) 
 
 

TIME OF DEPARTURE                                               (A.M./P.M.) 

DEPARTURE AND DESTINATION CITIES 
 
 
DATE OF RETURN                                      (MONTH/DAY/YEAR) 
 
 

TIME OF RETURN                                                      (A.M./P.M.) 

MODE OF TRAVEL 
 

� Private Car (total number of miles)   ________________________________________ 
 
� Commercial Transportation (attach receipt)  __________________________________ 
 
� Other (please explain) ___________________________________________________ 
 

_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________ 

 

 
� MEALS: Please indicate by date which meals you would like to be reimbursed for (B) Breakfast, (L) Lunch, (D) Dinner,   

              
                ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
                ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                   
               You must indicate departure/return times above so it can be determined whether you are eligible for meal reimbursement. 
 

SIGNATURE (please sign in ink) 
 

DATE 

 



State of Montana 
Department of Administration 
SW9 (4/2009) 

State Accounting Division 
PO Box 200102 

125 North Roberts Street 
Mitchell Bldg – Room 255 

Helena, MT 59620 
Phone:  406-444-3092 

Send faxes to: 406-444-2812

Substitute W-9 DO NOT send to IRS

Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) Verification
Print or Type 
Please see attachment or reverse for complete instructions.

��Legal Name
(as entered with IRS) If Sole Proprietorship, enter your Last, First, MI

� � � � � � �

��Trade Name
If doing business as (DBA) or enter business name of Sole Proprietorship 

� � � � � �

��Primary Address (for 1099 form) 

PO Box or Number and Street, City, State, ZIP + 4 

� � � � � �

� � � � � �

��Remit Address (where payment should be mailed, if different from Primary 

 Address) PO Box or Number and Street, City, State, ZIP + 4 

� � � � � �

� � � � � �

��Entity Designation (check only one type) 

 Corporation 

    S-Corp   C-Corp 

  Do you provide medical services? 

    Yes   No 

 Individual 

 Sole Proprietorship 

 Partnership 

    General   Limited 

    LLC (for federal tax purposes taxed as) 

     S-Corp   C-Corp 

 Estate/Trust 

 Other Groups of Individuals 

 Organization Exempt from Tax 

 (under Section 501 (a)(b)(c)(d)(e)) 

 Government Entity 

��Exempt from Backup Withholding 

  Yes   No 

��Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) (Provide Only One) (If sole proprietorship provide FEIN, if applicable)�

Social Security Number 

� � � � � �

Federal Employer Identification No 

� � � � � �

��Certification
Under penalties of perjury, I certify that: 

1.  The number shown on this form is my correct taxpayer identification number, AND 
2.  I am not subject to backup withholding because (a) I am exempt from backup withholding, or (b) I have not been notified by the 

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) that I am subject to backup withholding as a result of a failure to report all interest or dividends, or 
(c) the IRS has notified me that I am no longer subject to backup withholding. 

3.  I am a U.S. person (including a US resident alien).

Printed Name 

� � � � � �

Printed Title 

� � � � � �

Telephone Number 

� � � � � �

Signature Date 

� � � � � �

��Optional Direct Deposit Information (used at agency discretion) (all fields required to receive electronic payments) 

(Must Include a Voided Check, No Direct Deposit Slips Accepted)
Your Bank Account Number 

� � � � � �

 Checking 

 Savings 

Name on Bank Account 

� � � � � �

Bank Routing No. (ABA) 

� � � � � �

THIS IS A: 

 New Direct Deposit  Change of Existing  Additional Direct Deposit  Email Change Only 

Email Address (Please make this LEGIBLE) 

� � � � � �

If you provide bank information and an email address, we will send a message notifying you when an electronic payment is issued.  We will 
NOT share your email address with anyone or use it for any other purpose than communicating information about your electronic payments to 
you. If you have questions about completing this form, please call the Warrant Writer Unit at 406-444-3092.



SW9 (4/2009) 

Instructions for Completing Taxpayer Identification Number Verification 
(Substitute W-9) 

Legal Name  As entered with IRS 

 Individuals:  Enter Last Name, First Name, MI 
 Sole Proprietorships:  Enter Last Name, First Name, MI 
 LLC Single Owner: Enter owner's Last Name, First 
Name, MI 
 All Others:  Enter Legal Name of Business 

Trade Name

 Individuals:  Leave Blank 
 Sole Proprietorships:  Enter Business Name 
 LLC Single Owner:  Enter LLC Business Name 
 All Others:  Complete only if doing business as a D/B/A 

Primary Address

 Address where 1099 should be mailed. 

Remit Address

 Address where payment should be mailed. Complete 
only if different from primary address. 

Entity Designation

 Check ONE box which describes the type of business 
entity. 

Taxpayer Identification Number

LIST ONLY ONE:  Social Security Number OR Employer 
Identification Number. See “What Name and Number to 
Give the Requester” at right. 

 If you do not have a TIN, apply for one immediately. 
Individuals use federal form SS-05 which can be obtained 
from the Social Security Administration. Businesses and 
all other entities use federal form SS-04 which can be 
obtained from the Internal Revenue Service. 

Certification

You must cross out item 2 above if you have been 
notified by the IRS that you are currently subject to 
backup withholding because you have failed to report all 
interest and dividends on your tax return. For real estate 
transactions, item 2 does not apply. For mortgage 
interest paid, acquisition or abandonment of secured 
property, cancellation of debt, contributions to an 
individual retirement arrangement (IRA), and generally, 
payments other than interest and dividends, you are not 
required to sign the certification, but you must provide 
your correct TIN. 

Privacy Act Notice

 Section 6109 of the Internal Revenue Code requires you 
to furnish your correct TIN to persons who must file 
information returns with the IRS to report interest, 
dividends, and certain other income paid to you, 
mortgage interest you paid, the acquisition or 
abandonment of secured property, or contributions you 
made to an IRA. The IRS uses the numbers for 
identification purposes and to help verify the accuracy of 
 your tax return. You must provide your TIN whether or 
not you are required to file a tax return. Payers must 
generally withhold 28% of taxable interest, dividend, and 

certain other payments to a payee who does not furnish a 
TIN to a payer. Certain penalties may also apply. 

What Name and Number to Give the Requester 

For this type of account: Give name and SSN of: 

1. Individual 

2. Two or more individuals (joint 
account) 

3. Custodian account of a minor 
(Uniform Gift to Minors Act) 

4. a. The usual revocable savings 
trust (grantor is also trustee) 

b. So-called trust account that 
is not a legal or valid trust 
under state law 

5. Sole proprietorship or Single-
Owner LLC 

The individual 

The actual owner of the account 
or, if combined funds, the first 
individual no the account 1

The minor 2

The grantor-trustee 1

The actual owner 1

The owner 3

For this type of account: Give name and EIN of:

6. Sole Proprietorship or Single- 
Owner LLC 

7. A valid trust, estate, or pension 
trust 

8. Corporate or LLC electing 
corporate status on Form 
8832 

9. Association, club, religious, 
charitable, educational, or 
other tax-exempt organization 

10. Partnership or multi-member 
LLC 

11. A broker or registered 
nominee 

12. Account with the Department 
of Agriculture in the name of a 
public entity (such as a state 
or local government, school 
district or prison) that receives 
agricultural program payments 

The owner 3

Legal entity 4

The corporation 

The organization 

The partnership 

The broker or nominee 

The public entity 

1 List first and circle the name of the person whose number you 
furnish. If only one person on a joint account has an SSN, that 
person’s number must be furnished. 
2 Circle the minor’s name and furnish the minor’s SSN. 
3 You must show your individual name, but you may also enter your 
business or “DBA” name. You may use either your SSN or EIN (if you 
have one). 
4 List first and circle the name of the legal trust, estate, or pension 
trust. (Do not furnish the TIN of the personal representative or trustee 
unless the legal entity itself is not designated in the account title.) 

NOTE: If no name is circled when more than one name is listed, the 
number will be considered to be that of the first name listed.  


